Roxbury Public Schools

Preparing the children of today for tomorrow...

Anti- Bullying

Dear Roxbury Community,

Beginning in September 2011, new legislation and new anti-bullying guidelines were put in place in the Roxbury Schools. Staff members were trained on the new law, and professional development continues each new school year.

Policy File

Regulation Procedures File

The Commisioner of Education is required by statute to develop a program to grade each public school and school district's efforts to implement the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act (ABR) (N.J.S.A. 18A:17-46). Each of our seven schools conducted a School Self-Assessment for Determining Grades under the ABR and copies of these assessments will be available at the June 3rd Board of Education Meeting. Below is a link to the presentation explaining this process and a review of the evidence collected:
 
 
If you have any questions related to this process please contact the Anti- Bullying Specialist in your school or Mrs. Maryann Gibbs, the district Anti-Bullying Coordinator at 973-584-6799.
 

Anti-bullying Coordinator and Specialists

The district Anti-bullying Coordinator is Mrs. Maryann Gibbs.
 
If you have any general questions or concerns about district policy or procedures for Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying (HIB), please contact her at mgibbs@roxbury.org or phone 973-584-6799.
 
Each school has an Anti-bullying Specialist, who is the chair of the School Safety Team, leads the investigation of incidents of HIB, and acts as the primary school official responsible for preventing, identifying, and addressing incidents of HIB in the school:
 
 FranklinGail Steinmetz gsteinmetz@roxbury.org973-584-5549
 Nixon Gina LaCapraglacapra@roxbury.org
973-398-2564
 Kennedy Ashley Cicchinoacicchino@roxbury.org973-584-3840
 Jefferson Ashley Cicchinoacicchino@roxbury.org
973-584-8955 
 Lincoln/Roosevelt Roxanne Benbowrbenbow@roxbury.org 973-584-4331
 EMS Geri Espositoggesposito@roxbury.org 973-584-2973 
 RHS Jen Kennyjkenny@roxbury.org973-584-1200
 
CLOSE