Digital Citizenship

  • The Roxbury School District aligns its digital citizenship curriculum with Common Sense Media.  We feel that our commitment to creating digital learning environments will only be successful if we focus on a number of supporting initiatives and digital citizenship is one of those initiatives.  Our vision for creating digital learning environments with a digital citizenship focus is:

     

    Vision:

    In order for the Roxbury Township Public Schools to prepare our students of today for tomorrow, we need to provide them with an engaging, personalized curriculum that will inspire and empower them to flourish as ethical and global citizens in the 21st century.  All students have unique needs, abilities and interests and educational technology enables students to experience a more personalized curriculum to gain the 21st century skills necessary to be successful in college and career.  Our commitment to creating these digital learning environments includes ensuring students learn the digital citizenship skills necessary to utilize technology appropriately and responsibly.  

     

    Curriculum:

    The computer skills curriculum was revised during the summer of 2015 to reflect the 2014 New Jersey Core Curriculum Standards for Technology to be implemented beginning in September, 2015.  One of the strands for Educational Technology is Digital Citizenship and after a lot of research, the District decided to implement a number of lessons from the curriculum provided by Common Sense Media.  This curriculum provides age appropriate lessons in a variety of areas including Internet Safety, Privacy & Security, Cyberbullying & Digital Drama, and Digital Footprint & Reputation.  The full scope and sequence of this curriculum can be downloaded here - Scope & Sequence.

     

    Parental Involvement:

    Throughout the school year, we will be sharing resources with you to assist you in understanding the content that is being shared with your child(ren) and to encourage you to engage in discussions around digital citizenship topics.  If you have any questions regarding this digital citizenship initiative, please contact a member of the Project Team below.

     

    Project Team:

    District Contact - Teresa Rehman, trehman@roxbury.org

    Roxbury High School Contact - Ruth Davis, rdavis@roxbury.org

    Eisenhower Middle School Contact - Phil Moskowitz, pmoskowitz@roxbury.org

    Lincoln/Roosevelt Elementary School Contact - Jason Tate, jtate@roxbury.org

    Franklin Elementary School Contact - Kelly Freund, kfreund@roxbury.org

    Kennedy Elementary School Contact - Karen Kovarik, kkovarik@roxbury.org

    Jefferson Elementary School Contact - Dana Taggart, dtaggart@roxbury.org

    Nixon Elementary School Contact - Kelly Freund, kfreund@roxbury.org and Dana Taggart, dtaggart@roxbury.org

     


     

Making Sense Blog

Parenting, Media, and Everything In Between