• CHILD STUDY TEAM SERVICES

     

    The Child Study Team (CST) is a group of professionals employed by the Roxbury Board of Education who provide consultative, evaluative, and prescriptive services to teachers and parents in regard to students who are experiencing school related difficulties.

    Who are the members of the Child Study Team?

    The members of the Child Study Team, as determined by the New Jersey Department of Education, are a school psychologist, a learning disabilities teacher-consultant and a school social worker. 

    What are the responsibilities of the school psychologist?

    The school psychologist has expertise in determining a child’s level of cognitive and conceptual development. In addition, the psychologist is concerned with the emotional status of the student, and how both internal and external factors may affect behavior and performance in school. The school psychologist works with both general education and special education teachers to maximize a student’s potential. 

    What are the responsibilities of the learning disabilities teacher-consultant?

    The learning consultant (LDT-C) is trained to determine the learning styles of students, to determine specific achievement levels in a variety of content areas, and to recommend specific teaching methods and strategies that may benefit a student. This professional is generally called upon to model specific strategies and methods that may benefit students. 

    What are the responsibilities of the school social worker?

    The expertise of the social worker lies in assessing the student relative to the family, the school, and the community. This professional generally gathers information concerning the student’s health, family, and school history as it pertains to the student’s current school functioning. The social worker is also the professional responsible for coordinating community resources on behalf of students and their families. 

    Who are the Child Study Team members in each of our schools?

    Staff Member

    School(s)

    Phone

    Email

    Jennifer Baxter

    OOD,RHS

    973-584-1200

    jbaxter@roxbury.org

    Sherlyne Dalupang

    OOD,RHS

    973-584-1200

    sdalupang@roxbury.org

    Stacey Estes

    FES,JES,KES,NES,OOD

    973-584-4232

    sestes@roxbury.org

    Julie Lodato

    RHS

    973-584-1200

    jlodato@roxbury.org

    Meredith Maffeo-Spitzer

    LRS, EMS, OOD

    973-584-4232

    mmspitzer@roxbury.org

    Katherine Mosher

    FES,JES,KES, NES,OOD

    973-584-4232

    kmosher@roxbury.org

    Michael Mosher

    EMS,LRS,OOD

    973-584-4232

    mmosher@roxbury.org

    Susan Redwood

    OOD,RHS

    973-584-1200

    sredwood@roxbury.org

    Dominick Scasserra

    FES,JES,KES, NES,OOD

    973-584-4232

    dscasserra@roxbury.org

    Deborah Skop

    FES,JES,KES,NES,OOD

    973-584-4232

    dskop@roxbury.org

    Alexis Vergara

    OOD,RHS

    973-584-1200

    avergara@roxbury.org

    Jennifer Vilela

    NES

    973-398-2564

    jvilela@roxbury.org

    Deborah Wetreich

    FES,JES,KES,NES,OOD

    973-584-4232

    dwetreich@roxbury.org

    Keeshana Wright

    EMS,LRS,OOD

    973-584-4232

    kwright@roxbury.org

     

    SPEECH AND LANGUAGE SERVICES

    What are Speech and Language Services?

    The development of age-appropriate speech and language skills is essential to the learning process and to a student’s social, emotional, and academic growth. Students must be able to comprehend language, express their thoughts and opinions, interact effectively and efficiently with peers and adults, and produce speech, which others can easily understand.

    The Roxbury School District provides speech and language services to students from age 3, in our preschool disabilities programs if found eligible for special education, and in Kindergarten thru age 21 who demonstrate a need to improve their speech and language skills in articulation, language, fluency, or voice disorder in order to achieve academic success.

    How students are referred for speech and language services?

    Students can be referred for speech and language services by their parents or their classroom teachers if they are concerned about a student’s speech and language proficiency as part of a Child Study Team Evaluation or in isolation. The goal of these services is to help students develop the speech and language skills necessary for positive interpersonal relationships and academic success.   

    Who provides speech and language services in Roxbury Public Schools?

    The district currently employs 5 speech and language specialists across 7 schools.

    Speech and Language Specialists 

    Staff Member

    School(s)

    Phone

    Email

    Lisa Behrle

    FES

    973-584-5549

    lbehrle@roxbury.org

    Danielle Bonanni

    NES

    973-398-2564

    dbonanni@roxbury.org

    Janet Kasliner

    LRS

    973-584-4331

    jkasliner@roxbury.org

    Allison Rommel

    EMS,KES

    973-584-2973

    arommel@roxbury.org

    Jenna Vento

    JES

    973-584-8955

    jvento@roxbury.org

     

    OCCUPATIONAL & PHYSICAL THERAPY 

    What is Occupational Therapy?

    Occupational Therapy is a related service which is designed to help students within a school setting who are showing an educational related difficulty, which impairs his/her ability to function in the school environment. Occupational Therapists use purposeful activity to facilitate a student’s active participation in the areas of self-care, academic and/or vocational pursuits, as well as play and leisure activities. Using direct and indirect services, as well as assistive technology and environmental modifications, school occupational therapists collaborate with parents, teachers, and other educational staff to help implement a child’s program. The goal of services is to assist a student to function well within the school setting.

    What is Physical Therapy?

    Physical Therapy is a related service, which is designed to help students access their school environment and participate safely and to the best of their ability in their academic curriculum. School physical therapists address functional limitations such as difficulties with mobility, transitions or gross motor skills, as well as interventions that address impairments that contribute to those functional limitations such as posture, balance, strength, and coordination. Difficulties in these areas must impact upon student participation in their educational program and environment.  

    Who provides Physical Therapy services in Roxbury?

    The district currently employs 3 Occupational Therapists and 1 Physical Therapist across 7 schools.

     Physical and Occupational Therapy Specialists 

    Staff Member

    School(s)

    Phone

    Email

    Kevin Franco

    JES

    973-584-8955

    kfranco@roxbury.org

    Steven Kuti

    KES,LRS,EMS

    973-584-3938

    skuti@roxbury.org

    Patricia Russo

    FES,NES

    973-398-2564

    prusso@roxbury.org

    Diane Tavares

    FES,JES,KES,NES

    973-584-4232

    dtavares@roxbury.org