Return to Headlines

Physics & Tech participate in Trans-Options Hydrogen Fuel Cell Challenge


Physics & Tech participate in Trans-Options Hydrogen Fuel Cell Challenge

Physics and Tech Class Group Photo  

ROXBURY, NJ (January 4, 2019) - For the third year in a row, the Physics & Tech classes from Roxbury High School participated in the Trans-Options Hydrogen Fuel Cell Challenge at New Providence High School. Under the guidance of Mr. Michael Gottfried and Mr. Ryan Gibson, students from their classes designed and built cars to race in the challenge.   

The challenge requires students to design, build and race alternative energy model cars. In the process of designing their car, students learn about fuel cell technology. They also are required to submit a documentation portfolio, which presents the team's concepts, designs, and comments. 

The benefits of the challenge for students include an introduction to STEAM career fields in engaging ways, learning collaborative problem-solving and career-relevant skills. For our teachers, they experience making science and engineering interesting for students, increase student engagement in the STEAM field, and have a life-changing impact by coaching and supporting a STEAM team. Additionally, everyone learns more about the environmental and sustainability impact as we explore using alternative sources of energy. 

Ms. Denise Glenn, Grades 6-12 Science Supervisor shared, “Our students did an outstanding job placing 5th overall in speed out of 35 teams this year. This is the best RHS has ever placed. We are extremely proud of all of our teams and even received compliments from Trans-Options on our sportsmanship and willingness to assist other schools. Another great day to be a Gael, our P & T classes did an outstanding job this year! 

PHOTO ATTACHED (courtesy of Roxbury High School)

  • Physics and Tech Group Photo - Top row (left to right): Derek O'Leary (Gr 12), Jordn Santiago (Gr 12), Eric Eklund (Gr 12), Ryan Shumaker (Gr 12), Nick Fowler (Gr 12), Indy Sampson (Gr 12), Hannah Yarznbowicz (Gr 12); Middle row (L to R) Michael Gottfried (Teacher), Natalia Marulanda (Gr 12), Shamoya Rigg (Gr 12), Jade Manche (Gr 12), Amy Day (Gr 12), Aaliyah Goldberry (Gr 12), Mel McPeek (Gr 12), Ryan Gibson (Teacher); and Bottom row: Kyle Brunner (Gr 12), Joe Holman (Gr 12) 


For more information, contact: Roxbury Community School/Community Relations Coordinator Ann Rhodes at or 973-584-7699.



Roxbury Public Schools is a K-12 school district preparing the children of today for tomorrow. As a dynamic and thriving district, in partnership with a supportive and collaborative community, Roxbury Public Schools inspires and empowers all learners to flourish as ethical and global citizens in the 21st century. The district serves students throughout Roxbury Township, New Jersey, including the areas of Landing, Kenvil, Succasunna, Ledgewood, Mount Arlington, Port Morris, Flanders, and Wharton. Connect with us online at or on Facebook at