Return to Headlines

Roxbury HS Cross Country Moves on to Group Championships


Roxbury HS Cross Country Moves on to Group Championships

Roxbury Girls and Boys XC Moving on to the Group 3 Championships  

ROXBURY, NJ (November 14, 2019) – Roxbury High School Cross Country team competed in the North 1 Group 3 Sectional Championships on Saturday, November 9th. This is equivalent to the first round of the state tournament. 

The Boys team placed fourth overall advancing the entire team to the Group 3 State Championships. Juniors Nate Hajel and Thomas Schulz placed second and sixth, respectively. 

The Girls team placed sixth overall and advance senior, Lauren Tom (14th) and freshman, Gabby Daskalova (7th) to represent at the Group 3 State Championships. 

The Group 3 State Championships will be contested at Holmdel Park this Saturday, November 16th. 

Additionally, both the girls and boys teams were both voted by teams in their conference to receive the Sportsmanship Award for the NJAC National Division. Coach Laura Schmidt shared, “This is an accomplishment we are most proud of.” 

Eight Roxbury Cross Country team members were also awarded All-Conference Honors:

  • Nate Hajel: 1st team 
  • Thomas Schulz: 1st team 
  • Shafer Sembrat: 2nd Team 
  • Matt Hajel: Honorable Mention 
  • Lauren Tom: 1st team
  • Gabby Daskalova: 1st team
  • Bella Campiglia: 1st team 
  • Katie Cammarata: Honorable Mention 

PHOTO ATTACHED (courtesy of Roxbury High School)



For more information, contact: Roxbury Community School/Community Relations Coordinator Ann Rhodes at or 973-584-7699. 


Roxbury Public Schools is a K-12 school district preparing the children of today for tomorrow. As a dynamic and thriving district, in partnership with a supportive and collaborative community, Roxbury Public Schools inspires and empowers all learners to flourish as ethical and global citizens in the 21st century. The district serves students throughout Roxbury Township, New Jersey, including the areas of Landing, Kenvil, Succasunna, Ledgewood, Mount Arlington, Port Morris, Flanders, and Wharton. Connect with us online at or on Facebook at